Surfing, Skateboarding, Music, Photography, Travel, Culture and general antics of the youth on the run.

Ty Segall debuts new super band The Muggers feature members of King Tuff, Wand and Cairo Gang plus Mikal Cronin

Last year, right around Halloween, I heard this wonderful rumor that the ever-prolific, over-achieving Ty Segall was forming yet another band, but this time with a bunch of other well-established, talented as fuck musicians. Kyle Thomas of King Tuff. Mikal Cronin. Emmett Kelly of the Cairo Gang. Cory Hanson from Wand. Basically a guitar-driven super group of the best dudes playing in LA. When I reached out to Segall’s publicist for more information, she responded with a very serious “I cannot confirm anything at this point.”

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 12.30.38 PM

Photo: @Ceserrano [Instagram]

Well, last night, at the Silverlake Lounge on Sunset, the Muggers performed live for the very first time. There’s almost no information about the Muggers floating around the Internet, but Segall, who has always been a fan of confusing and misleading reporters — remember when Fuzz started? — released information back in November announcing a new album due in January called Emotional Mugger. Whether Emotional Mugger will be the debut album of the Muggers is still unconfirmed and undetermined and a big old mystery. But, Segall did announce a string of North American tour dates. So catch him if you can, and see the super band for yourself. For now, we’ll just have to ride the rumor mill. —Maya Eslami 

Emotional Mugger Tour Dates:

Wed. Jan. 13 – Solano Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern *

Fri. Jan. 15 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom

Sat. Jan. 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom *

Mon. Jan. 18 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *

Tue. Jan. 19 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore

Thu. Jan. 21 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre *

Fri. Jan. 22 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre *

Sat. Jan. 23 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theatre *

Wed. Feb. 17 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom

Fri. Feb. 19 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk Outside

Sat. Feb. 20 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks

Sun. Feb. 21 – Memphis, TN @ The Hi Tone Cafe

Mon. Feb. 22 – Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge

Tue. Feb. 23 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse

Wed. Feb. 24 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel

Thu. Feb. 25 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *

Fri. Feb. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero Theatre *

Sat. Feb. 27 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall *

Sun. Feb. 28 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall

Tue. March 1 – Boston, MA @ Royale *

Wed. March 2 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Rialto *

Thu. March 3 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Rialto *

Fri. March 4 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall *

Sat. March 5 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre *

Mon. March 7 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall

Tue. March 8 Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *

Wed. March 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue and 7th Street Entry

Thu. March 10 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room

Fri. March 11 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre

Sat. March 12 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

Fri. April 29 – Sun. May 1 – Austin, TX @ Levitation (Austin Psych Festival) at Carson Creek

Sign up for letters from What Youth