Surfing, Skateboarding, Music, Photography, Travel, Culture and general antics of the youth on the run.

Listen to Sam Evian Soft, tangible comfort jams for your soul

what youth recommends sam evian

Sam Evian, the project of songwriter, producer, and multi-instrumentalist Sam Owens, is at once new and refreshing and vivid, like a spark of light bursting off a lit flame, and at the same time familiar, comforting, like a bowl of chicken soup. I know, that’s a whole lot of imagery. But I’m completely blown away by his new track “I Remember,” off a series of singles he’s releasing with former Deerhoof member Chris Cohen. Recorded in Cohen’s garage studio in Los Angeles with Evian on guitar and Cohen on drums, “I Remember” is so palatable and fluid, I can’t even count how many times I’ve played it today. As Evian explains, the song is “a miniature requiem for my physical self, the one left behind by a new and strange digital singularity.” Whatever that may mean to you, his echoing voice, lithe behind a thin veil of reverb, will leave you mesmerized. So press play, and fall into his groove.

And if you still want more, check out his other single “Need You,” the title track off the Cohen collab EP, dropping tomorrow – October 6th – on Saddle Creek. Evian’s already begun his fall tour, so check dates below. His lineup includes Brian Betancourt, Austin Vaughn, Big Thief guitarist Buck Meek, and special appearances by vocalist Hannah Cohen. –Maya Eslami 

Sam Evian Tour Dates:
(new dates in bold)
Wed. Oct. 4 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery w/ Nick Hakim
Thurs. Oct. 5 – Raleigh, NC @ Kings w/ Nick Hakim
Fri. Oct. 6 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East w/ Nick Hakim
Sat. Oct. 7 – Atlanta, GA @ Vinyl w/ Nick Hakim
Mon. Oct. 9 – Birmingham, AL @ The Nick w/ Nick Hakim
Tues. Oct. 10 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa w/ Nick Hakim
Fri. Oct. 12 – Austin, TX @ Cactus Café w/ Buck Meek
Fri. Oct. 13 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Mon. Oct. 16 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge
Wed. Oct. 18 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room w/ Nick Hakim
Thurs. Oct. 19 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex w/ Nick Hakim
Fri. Oct. 20 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent w/ Nick Hakim
Sat. Oct. 21 – Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club w/ Nick Hakim
Mon. Oct. 23 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir w/ Nick Hakim
Tues. Oct. 24 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza w/ Nick Hakim
Sat. Jan. 20 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel w/ The Allah-Las

Sign up for letters from What Youth