Surfing, Skateboarding, Music, Photography, Travel, Culture and general antics of the youth on the run.

Listen to Khruangbin And thank us later

What do three relatively young musicians from Burton, Texas have to do with a sound explosion that brings to mind 60’s Middle Eastern music laced up in subtle R&B and Ethiopian surf influenced rhythms? Khruangbin is the answer, and they’re my new favorite band. Formed by Laura Lee on bass, Mark Speer on guitar, and Donald “DJ” Johnson on drums, the globetrotting trio have somehow managed to create timeless, instrumental tracks that play out like pure silk floating in a summer breeze. Or, as Ben said, “I just got out of the water and this is exactly what it sounded and felt like out there.”

In a time when certain areas of the US are turning their backs on the international community, three Texans producing Middle Eastern, particularly Iranian, funk and soul is more than refreshing. But beyond anything political, Khruangbin are “throwing back a compliment” to world music and the many years in which other countries reinterpreted US-based music – think Tinariwen’s obsession with Jimi Hendrix, for one – and they’re doing it really fucking well. Take Mark Speer’s free-rolling guitar lines, which seem almost impossible to execute, that flow like a velvet carpet ride through a rainforest dripping in honey. This is music for the senses, music to get lost in.

Khruangbin’s new album Con Todo El Mundo dropped January 26th on Dead Oceans, and it’s available everywhere to buy and stream. So do yourself a favor today, listen up. And thank us later. Because music like this doesn’t happen that often. –Maya Eslami 

what youth recommends khruangbin

Khruangbin US Tour Dates 
Thu. March 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Fri. March 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Sat. March 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Tue. March 27 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Thu. March 29 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Fri. March 30 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. March 31 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall Downstairs
Mon. April 2 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Tue. April 3 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Wed. April 4 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Thu. April 5 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Fri. April 6 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Rex Theater
Sat. April 7 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Thu. April 12 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. April 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Sat. April 14 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Mon. April 16 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Fairmont
Tue. April 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Mod Club
Wed. April 18 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Thu. April 19 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Fri. April 20 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. April 21 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Mon. April 23 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Thu. April 26 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Fri. April 27 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Cabaret
Sat. April 28 – Portland. OR @ Revolution Hall
Wed. May 2 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore

 

Sign up for letters from What Youth