Surfing, Skateboarding, Music, Photography, Travel, Culture and general antics of the youth on the run.

Iggy Pop Announces New Album Titled “Post Pop Depression” and in collaboration with Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age

Everyone has their own King. To the greater public, Elvis Presley is the King of Rock ‘n’ Roll. To others, it’s Chuck Berry. To me, my King will always and forever be James Newell Osterberg, Jr., also known as Iggy Pop.

Mr. Pop announced today that he has been secretly writing songs and recording with Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age since last year. Titled Post Pop Depression, their forthcoming album is scheduled to drop March 18th through Loma Vista, and, from what I’ve gathered, will return to Iggy’s sound from his Berlin/Bowie days of The Idiot and Lust For Life.

The band, including members of Queens of the Stone Age, Arctic Monkeys and the Dead Weather, and of course Iggy Pop and Homme, will tour in March after the album’s release. But don’t count on seeing them live. As told to the New York Times,

“There won’t be hardly any shows, and they won’t be in big places, and you won’t be able to get a ticket. So almost everyone won’t see it. It will be like trying to catch smoke in your hands. And that makes it even better. It will be special, and it will be over in the blink of an eye.”

Well, our eyes are peeled, and we’ll figure out a way to catch that smoke. —Maya Eslami

Listen to the first single from the album called “Gardenia.”

Post Pop Depression Tracklist:

01 Break Into Your Heart
02 Gardenia
03 American Valhalla
04 In the Lobby
05 Sunday
06 Vulture
07 German Days
08 Chocolate Drops
09 Paraguay

Watch Iggy and Tom Waits in Jim Jarmusch’s film Coffee and Cigarettes: 

Sign up for letters from What Youth

By enabling this page, you are acknowledging and accepting our privacy terms and conditions.